The Council


The Chairman of Salford Parish Council is currently Steve McBride, and the other four councillors are Nick Hill (Deputy Chairman), Rachel Caldin, Nigel Colston, and Hilary McGlynn. Nigel Colston also serves on West Oxfordshire District Council. Current agendas and minutes are posted on the two village noticeboards and all preceding ones are available on this website, plus other Council documentation. Carol Ross is Clerk to the Council and to contact her please click on 'Contact Us' at the top of this page.

Parish Council monthly meetings take place on the first Tuesday of each month at 7.30pm in the Village Hall.  Members of the public are welcome and encouraged to attend.  The Annual Parish Council Meeting takes place on the first Tuesday in May at which Councillors may be elected if it is an election year.

The Annual Parish Council Meeting should not be confused with the Annual Village Meeting, which takes place on the 1st Tuesday in April. This is a village meeting, not a Parish Council Meeting, although it is run by the Parish Council.  At this meeting the Chairman and Clerk (Responsible Financial Officer) of the Parish Council give their reports on the preceding year, as do District and County Council Councillors who also attend.

The Clerk of the Parish Council produces an Annual Village Newsletter, circulated at the end of March so residents receive it before the Annual Village Meeting. Copies of preceding Newsletters are available on the Documents page.